Mon - Fri: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm​   ​​  +254 20 271 1177, +254 707 256 140

The Nairobi Legal Awards - 2021

Celebrating Excellence

The Law Society of Kenya Nairobi Branch set up an annual legal excellence Awards Programme in 2018. This was done in recognition of the challenges noted with law practice in Nairobi and Kiambu Counties including the quality of client care and client satisfaction, quality of legal services and engagement between members of the profession and other professional bodies. The Branch noted the absence of professional standards of practice to govern the operations of law firms and legal departments and aims to promote the setting of standards to serve as benchmark for excellence in legal practice in the country and the region and to make legal practice in Kenya and the region, globally competitive.

The Awards Programme was thus set up to recognize law firms/ legal departments and individual lawyers with outstanding standards of practice and legal service delivery in an effort towards encouraging excellence in practice. The criteria for the various awards is based on globally recognized best practice in legal practice. So far, 3 editions of the Nairobi Legal Awards have been held.

Benefits of the Awards Programme

  • Setting standards of best-practice for legal professional excellence
  • Improvement of standards of practice
  • Promotion of the setting up of governance standards for professional firms.
  • Recognition of firms and professionals who demonstrate excellence in legal practice and service delivery


The following are eligible to participate in the Awards

  • All lawyers practising in Nairobi and Kiambu Counties
  • All law firms with offices/registered practices in Nairobi and Kiambu Counties
  • All legal departments with offices in Nairobi and Kiambu Counties


Law-firms and organizations whose members are in the Awards Coordination Committee/Jury for any year are not eligible to compete in the Awards in that year.

Categories of Awards

The following Awards are anticipated:

  • Large Law Firm of the year
  • SME Law Firm of the year
  • Corporate Legal Department of the Year
  • Public Legal Department of the Year
  • Young Lawyer (less than 5years)
  • Lawyer of the Year
  • Public Sector Lawyer of the Year
  • Corporate (In House) Lawyer of the Year